Skip to main content

NM Court of Appeals Schedules August 30 Hearing

August 23, 2011 - Jen Laws

The New Mexico Court of Appeals has scheduled a hearing at the Pamela B. Minzner Law Center on Tuesday, August 30, 2011. The oral argument is open to the public and begins at 10 am.

A three-judge panel will preside: Judge Cynthia A. Fry ('81), Judge Roderick Kennedy, and Judge Timothy L. Garcia ('84).

Following are the details of the case:

BRUCE E. THOMPSON, as Personal Representative of the Wrongful Death Estate of RICHARD BROWN, Plaintiff- Appellant, represented by David J. Jaramillo, Maria E. Touchet and Rachel E. Higgins


TORRANCE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS, SHERIFF CLARENCE GIBSON, DOROTHY GIBSON, JEANINE ARNOLD, MICHAEL STACK, JAMES LEDBETTER and DEPUTY JOHN DOE, Individually and as Torrance County Sheriffs Officers and Employees, and the STATE OF NEW MEXICO, NEW MEXICO STATE POLICE, a division of the Public Safety, FARON SEGOTTA, Chief of Police, SHARON DOE, Dispatcher, and OFFICER CHRIS COLEY, Individually and as New Mexico State Police Officers and Employees,, Defendants-Appellees, represented by Dennis K. Wallin, Brandon Huss, Mary T. Torres, Christine L.G. Brennan, and James P. Sullivan

Plaintiff-Appellant appeals the trial court's finding that 911 dispatchers are not subject to the same waiver of immunity as law enforcements officers under the New Mexico Tort Claims Act.

Plaintiff-Appellant's Brief in Chief
Defedants-Appellees's Answer Brief
Plaintiff-Appellant's Reply Brief

For more information, contact Nora Gonzales at 505-841-4618.